Master vs. Victim


“Resolve to be a master of change rather than a victim of change.” – Brian Tracy

Pointing fingers at others because you can't handle change?

While the image of a pachyderm vs. a mad donkey may seem quirky, something deeper goes beyond this.  Being a ‘victim of change’ is a characteristic of possessing a ‘victim mentality’ — thinking that one’s circumstances cannot be changed, it must be faced passively, arms thrown into the air saying, “What can I do? This is my fate.”

I was like that for many years. I chose to stay passive, and just accept, accept, accept. My life was inching along bit by bit, stagnating actually.  I felt helpless to change my circumstances, and powerless to pull my life in the opposite direction because I thought all odds were against me.  Even my faith wasn’t sustained with this kind of attitude.  It had turned cold with my feeble attempts to keep it going.

Until in 2010, I went through personal breakthroughs, one after the other! From financial, to spiritual, to mental, and very recently, emotional.  I realized that wallowing in self-pity, blaming others, letting your thoughts get stuck in emotional ruts are NOT the ways my life was created.  Creating personal victories and celebrating them, no matter how critical the situation, is what God wants us to be. He wants us to be excellent in all things, to give 100%, even more!  To live according to His image and likeness is to be the best we can be, even in the face of change.

Live and love abundantly!

REZZA

Leave a Reply

